My Literary Confessions

alice-disney

  • My favourite first lines are not ones that you’ll find on top ten lists:

“When a day that you happen to know is a Wednesday starts off by sounding like a Sunday, there is something seriously wrong somewhere.” – John Wyndham, The Day of the Triffids

“It was a dazzling four-sun afternoon.” – Issac Asmiov and Robert Silverberg, Nightfall

“In defense of Althalus, it should be noted that he was in very tight financial circumstances and more than a little tipsy when he agreed to undertake the theft of the Book.” – David and Leigh Eddings, The Redemption of Althalus

  • I’ve read every single book in the Belgariad and Malloreon series, but I don’t own any of them.
  • I don’t use bookmarks – I dog ear.
  • My mother read me Alice in Wonderland when I was young and it bloody terrified me. She bought the Disney video and watched it with me, thinking that would help. IT. DID. NOT.
  • I’ve never read Frank Herbert’s Dune, I’ve only seen the film(s).
  • I prefer the audio drama versions of Hitchhiker’s to the books (though this is mainly due to the fact that my dad would play the cassettes in the car on long journeys when I was little).
  • There is a hardback copy of American Gods sitting on one of my bookshelves. Gathering dust.
  • Below is a list of clothbound classics I own but haven’t read (and don’t intend to – I bought them because the covers are pretty):

Crime and Punishment,
Wuthering Heights,
Madam Bovary,
Sense and sensibility,
Anna Karenina.

  • I will never ever read Ender’s Game., because fuck Orson Scott Card.
  • I only pretended to read the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant because my dad loves them so much.
  • I spend far more time then I should reading book versions of video games.
  • I’ve read every single novel in the Stephanie Plum series – but I will deny that fact vehemently in public.

There are probably more, but those are the main ones. Tell me yours?

4 thoughts on “My Literary Confessions

  1. Oh god I could never dog ear. The permanent crease would drive me up the wall! I hated, hated American Gods; what an absolute waste of time and energy.

    It’s a shame you won’t read Ender’s Game. With authors, I find that the less I know about them, or try to disassociate them from their books, the more I enjoy them.

    On a similar line to Stephanie Plum – I’ve read every single book by Sophie Kinsella and I love them all so damn much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You might be the first person to ever tell me they thought that book was rubbish! Someone bought it for me as a present, but I just never got around to reading it. Mind if I ask what you didn’t like about it?
      And I do agree with you about author disassociation, but in Scott Card’s case it’s just too much. Maybe one day I’ll read it… I don’t know.
      Hadn’t read of Sophie Kinsella, but those books look amazing. We all have our guilty pleasures. Good times. xD

      Like

      • Just about everything. The main character was the blandest I’d ever come across, the writing was annoying, the ending was anticlimactic… it was the perfect example of a good idea executed terribly. I was extremely disappointed.

        Kinsella’s books are so much fun! When I read them I know I’m in for a happy ending, and her characters are always refreshing and funny. I recommend “I’ve Got Your Number” and “Twenties Girl” by her – they’re my favourites!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

