It was a Dark, Stormy Morning…

INT. A SMALL HOME OFFICE/STUDY – DAWN

The room is long with a high ceiling, the walls are littered with bookshelves stacked between an old IKEA a style desk. There’s a blackout blind covering the only window.

INSERT: DESKTOP

The screen on the computer monitor reads BLOGGING 101. Today’s Task: Introduce yourself to the world!

BACK TO SCENE

ADA sits slumped over in front of it, chin resting on her arms.

ADA
Oh dear, I really should have thought this through.

A small tin robot toy starts to move beside the monitor. Its arms stretch up and it makes a yawning sound. ADA ignores it.

ROBOT
Have you finished yet?

ADA
No. Leave me alone.

ROBOT
You’ve had since 1am!

ADA
I had to catch up on my word count for Camp Nano. Chapter 5 of Underground needed a first draft too.

ROBOT
So what you’re saying is… you haven’t introduced yourself to the other bloggers on the course yet.

ADA
I thought you were supposed to be a motivational bot, not a state the bleeding obvious one.

ROBOT
Are all humans so grumpy or is it just you? Maybe if I say hello to the other bloggers one will adopt me and I can spend my days writing with a happy person.

ADA rolls her eyes and sits up, still staring at the computer screen.

ADA
Okay so all I have to do is make a post saying hello, explaining why I’m here and what I hope to accomplish by writing my blog.

ROBOT
Well, that shouldn’t be too hard at all! Just tell them you’re an aspiring freelance writer, who is working on a serial novel (which they can read by clicking the little link on the right) and that keeping this blog helps you build a portfolio of work!

ADA
Yeah that’s right, easy peasy. No problem at all.

Both ADA and ROBOT stare at the screen. ADA blinks slowly. Her eyes are still a little bloodshot. ROBOT coughs.

ROBOT
I mean, if you’re really that tired maybe just type this scene out and post that? I’m sure that would be okay.

ADA
Good idea my mechanical friend. Looks like I won’t be shutting you down today.

ROBOT
You have a truly horrid sense of humour, human.

2 thoughts on “It was a Dark, Stormy Morning…

Leave a Reply

